CSFFBT-Tuck

This months book was Tuck (http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/ASIN/1595540873)   written by Stephen R. Lawhead (http://www.stephenlawhead.com/ ). It was a very interesting book, the 3rd in his series about King Raven, also known by a few other names, one of the more popular names is Rhi Bran the Hud, or in English what we would call Robin Hood.

In the front of the book is a pronunciation guide to aid in you the reading of some of the Celtic words. This came in very handy to me, and was also very interesting since I love different languages.

The story was pretty well written, and I loved the people and the characters in it. It gave a new look at Robin Hood and maid Merian, as well as little John and Friar Tuck (personally, my favorite character), just to name a few.

Tuck is my favorite because he seems to be quite human and not as stuffy as some of the Priests in the book seem to be, he has his faults, but he also relies on the grace of God to get him through. I love how he uses his staff to protect those he loves. I don’t enjoy his penchant for drinking, or the fact that the book seems to portray and promote the idea of Catholicism, but all in all, Tuck is a pretty interesting character.

I loved how throughout the book, there were times where Rhi Bran was made more human to me than just legend, by the choices he made, good and sometimes bad, and the consequences he had to deal with. There were a few times where I thought it was most fitting for Angharad, the eldest in the tribe (you’ll find out more about her in the book),  to bring Rhi Bran down a notch or two in his pride… and her tactics usually worked.

The book is about Bran’s people, the Welsh common folk, who were fighting for their King, King Raven, to be put back on his throne. The Welsh people, also called the Cymry, were a fierce, proud and loyal people for their King, and loving too. In this story are families, single men, and women, priests, abbots, marshalls, sheriffs, Kings, Lords, Ladies, good guys and of course, bad guys…it is a good book if you are looking for a fairy tale brought out of legend, more into real life.

For more information about the book, check out the following websites, and check out what other bloggers have to say about it. I think if you are interested in anything having to do with the Welsh people, or about Robin Hood and his men, you will enjoy this book.
*Featured book, Tuck http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/ASIN/1595540873  
 Stephen R. Lawhead’s Web site – http://www.stephenlawhead.com/

Participants’ Links:
Brandon Barr
Jim Black
Keanan Brand
Rachel Briard
Grace Bridges
Valerie Comer
Amy Cruson
CSFF Blog Tour
Stacey Dale
D. G. D. Davidson
Jeff Draper
April Erwin
Karina Fabian
Alex Field
Beth Goddard
Todd Michael Greene
Ryan Heart
Timothy Hicks
Christopher Hopper
Joleen Howell
Becky Jesse
Cris Jesse
Jason Joyner
Kait
Carol Keen
Krystine Kercher
Dawn King
Terri Main
Margaret
Melissa Meeks
Rebecca LuElla Miller
Caleb Newell
Eve Nielsen
Nissa
John W. Otte
John Ottinger
Epic Rat
Steve Rice
Crista Richey
Hanna Sandvig
Chawna Schroeder
James Somers
Robert Treskillard
Rachel Starr Thomson
Steve Trower
Speculative Faith
Fred Warren
Phyllis Wheeler
Jill Williamson

7 thoughts on “CSFFBT-Tuck

  1. Pingback: God and Fiction – A Look at Tuck « A Christian Worldview of Fiction

  2. Good job, Becky.

    Just a note about the apparent Catholicism–back in 1066 there were no Protestant denominations. What I found interesting was the apparent transformation of the church, the growth of traditions, some errant ones. Remember when Tuck discovered the confessional, and it was the first time he’d seen one? As I recall, he said this was something the Normans brought with them.

    I don’t read a lot of historical fiction, but from what I’ve seen in Lawhead, he does his homework. Makes me feel as if I lived back in “them days.” 😉

    Becky

  3. Becky, I forgot about that part in the book when tuck saw the confessional. Mr. Lawhead did a good job on his book and I am looking foward to getting his other books so I can read them!!

  4. To comment on the reply “back in 1066 there were no Protestant denominations”…

    While Catholicism was prevalent in the era it was by no means the only view which claimed Christ. There are those who have never agreed with Catholicism, and their views have been around since long before Catholicism. Protestant is a term which makes most sense from a Catholic point of view, and though some would label “non Catholic” Christians as such I think it is misleading to call them by that name.

    But again, there were certainly followers of Christ in that time that had nothing to do with the Catholic church, and there have been since the day of Pentecost when the Holy Spirit came down upon His people.

    Catholicism was surely dominant in that place and time in history. And to paint the characters as Catholic is certainly fair, and indeed believable. But it is not the only option in a work of historical fiction such as this, nor is it the only fair and believable one.

    I do agree though that the research seems to have paid of well. I’m not an expert so I can’t say for sure it was all accurate. But I would guess it was accurate. I was immersed in the story and felt like I was there. It made me want to travel the lands myself, which I hear Lawhead has had the pleasure of doing.

  5. Pingback: “The Skin Map” by Stephen Lawhead « Becky Jesse's Blog

Leave a Reply

