Babies, babies, babies.

It seems that everywhere I turn these days, I am seeing babies. Cute babies, some not so cute babies, chubby babies, thin babies, babies that are healthy, and babies, that sad to say, are not so healthy. Crying babies, sleeping babies, babies that laugh, babies that coo, babies that are just so adorable that you want to pinch their cheeks!

I think why I am seeing so many babies lately is because I recently had one of my very own. Thats right, a baby girl. Born December 31st, 2009 at 8:18 in the morning. She weighed in somewhere between 7 lbs 3 oz. and 7 lbs 13 oz. I am not sure how the discrepency happened with her weight, but the morning after she was born, they weighed her again and she weight 7lb 11 oz, but her birth weight was announced as 7lb 3oz.

Having a baby changes your life! Everyone told me and my husband that, but until you actually have a baby, you never realize how right they were! Your sleeping patterns change, your eating habits change, your bathing habits change, everything about YOU changes and now becomes about THEM. Don’t get me wrong, I still take care of myself, that is one lesson that was drilled into me by my mom, and the nurses at the hospital. “If you don’t take care of yourself,” (i.e. eat, sleep, and bathe regularly) “you will not be able to take care of your daughter as effectively.”

It is a lesson that I am very glad was drilled into me. I do not neglect my daughter, but there are times when I just have to put her in the swing because my arm is killing me, or I need to make myself some lunch, something. Sometimes it is just putting her down and checking FB for 10-15 minutes. This helps restore my sanity to a more normal level than it was at before.  Having my husband at home, and knowing that he is capable of taking care of her helps my sanity too! There have been many times where he comes and takes Sarah and tells me to go have a nice long soak in the tub….I love those days! lol He helps too by making me things to eat while I am taking care of her, or getting me things, usually a burp cloth that I always forget to grab!

With all that being said, I LOVE being a mom and I would not change it for the world! One of the neat things that I like about being a mom, is that I get to see my husband be a dad. He is such a great friend and husband, and such a godly, handsome man, seeing him be a dad to our daugther is opening up a whole new aspect of his character that I didn’t get a chance to see in action too often in the 6 years that we have been married, prior to having our baby.

I love seeing him try, and most often succeed, in making our daughter smile and laugh (at least we call it laughing, but it is more like cooing with a gurgle thrown in- lol), I love seeing the tender, gentle side of him when he is cradling her in his arms, trying to comfort her because she is crying, I Love, love, love seeing him change her diapers because it means one less that I have to do! lol Seriously though, I like seeing that because it is a humbling job cleaning up someone else’s poop, and the fact that my husband is willing to help out in that area reminds me of what a great guy he is. The thing that I love the most, is seeing my husband hold our daughter and tell her how much Jesus loves her, and tell her who God is. She might not be able to understand every single word that we are saying, but the fact that he is doing it now, when she might not be able to comprehend it all, helps me to know that he will do it when she can understand. And he sings to her….*sigh*, talk about heartwarming. Having a baby does change a lot of things in your life, some not for the better, like lack of sleep, but for the most part, having a baby changes alot of things for good.

One thought on “Babies, babies, babies.

  1. Thanks for the post babe. I love being a parent with you, and you are an AMAZING mother!

    One question though… how could facebook possibly have a positive impact on sanity?

Leave a Reply

