Faery Rebel by R.J. Anderson #1

Well this was actually the third book that I received in the mail, just on monday. I came home from going somewhere with my beautiful baby daughter, I checked the mail and had two packages in there, then as I was unlocking my front door, my next door neighbor opens her door and hands me another package! I was very excited. 🙂

I opened the package up that held Faery Rebel, and I was confused. I had not ordered a book by this name and could not remember signing up for a blog tour for this one recently. Now, keep in mind, in the past two months, I have had a baby, had gall bladder surgery and been to the ER twice. SO, I was REALLY trying to remember stuff, but when that much stuff goes on and you have a baby that is JUST now letting me sleep for 5 hours at time, it is easy to become forgetful.

Well, after the confusion was cleared up by my handsome husband, I set the book down because it looked like a children’s book and I just was not in the mood for it that day.  I had also read the inside of the book jacket and it sounded a little bit like Fern Gully mixed in with a story about Tinkerbell.

I was wrong. I am a grown woman and I can admit when I am wrong and I was wrong about this book.

Once I started reading it and got past the first page, I was hooked. I finished this book in 3 days. Which is saying a lot considering that I have a 2 month old baby.

The main character in this book is a girl, which I happen to love because I am a girl, who is a curious, faery adventurer that wants to feel the thrill of life, actual living. For her, this means living on the edge, getting close to danger, getting in fights with crows, getting close to the “monster” humans, and outwitting foxes, all while trying to figure out what is missing in not only her life, but the lives of those she lives with.  Something seems wrong, dull, and backwards about where her people are headed, but she can’t quite put her finger on it, until…… tune in to tomorrows post to find out!

The book is “Faery Rebel” by R.J. Anderson, Book 1 in the Spell Hunter Series.

Check out these other blogs to see what other people think of this faery rebel, and make sure to check out R. J. Anderson’s  blog too or twitter!

In conjunction with the CSFF Blog Tour, I received a free copy of this book from the publisher.”

 

Sally Apokedak
Brandon Barr
Amy Browning
Melissa Carswell
CSFF Blog Tour
Stacey Dale
D. G. D. Davidson
Jeff Draper
April Erwin
Timothy Hicks
Jason Isbell
Becky Jesse
Cris Jesse
Jason Joyner
Julie
Carol Keen
Krystine Kercher
Dawn King
Rebecca LuElla Miller
New Authors Fellowship
Nissa
John W. Otte
Donita K. Paul
Crista Richey
Chawna Schroeder
Andrea Schultz
James Somers
Steve Trower
Fred Warren
Phyllis Wheeler
KM Wilsher

8 thoughts on “Faery Rebel by R.J. Anderson #1

  1. Great post. It seems like a lot of people are taken by surprise by the insides of the book when they disregard the cover and the first assumptions they have about it. Thanks for the review! Sounds like a good read and a believable character.

    God bless,
    Taylor J. Beisler
    http://www.taylorbeisler.com

  2. I am SO glad you liked the book, Becky. It would have been a bummer otherwise. I’ve said before, and I’ll say again. You are a real trooper to continue with the tour considering all you’ve been through.

    I’m with you, though. I loved this book, even though I wouldn’t call myself a fan of fairy stories. Great book.

    Becky

  3. Pingback: CSFF Blog Tour – Faery Rebels: Spell Hunter, Day 1 « A Christian Worldview of Fiction

  4. Oh my goodness, you’ve been through a lot! I had gall bladder surgery a few months ago myself and no baby and I was out of commission for a long time.

    But, YAY! I’m glad you loved the book. I don’t know the author or anything. I just love finding people who love books I love. And I loved this book. Oddly, I let mine sit on my shelf for two months. I didn’t care to read a fairy book. But once I picked it up there was no putting it down. I read it in one sitting, but, then I don’t have a baby.

    I remember the babies. I fell asleep every time I sat down. There was not reading for me, when my babies were brand new.

  5. All this right after having a new baby?! As a mother of three myself, I am in awe of your dedication! Thank you so much for taking the time to read my book and post your thoughts about it, especially at such a busy (but precious) time. May the Lord bless you and your little one.

  6. Pingback: Fantasy Friday – CSFF Blog Tour Wrap « A Christian Worldview of Fiction

Leave a Reply

