“By Darkness Hid” By Jill Williamson- Part 3

****Beware, this blog might spoil some parts in the book. Read further at your own risk. *****

So remember my first blog on this book, when I said I really liked Achan? One of the lead characters in Jill Williamson’s book “By Darkness Hid“…well that was not in any way a diss on the other lead character, Vrell.

Vrell is my type of girl. Enjoys the leisurely parts of being a girl, like enjoying a nice soak and the feel of well made clothes, but able and willing to do stuff that boys typically are known for doing.

In the book, Vrell, to escape possible marriage to a man who is not right for her, she hides and “becomes” a boy. She disguises herself as Vrell Sparrow, a stray who belongs to no one, and who hopefully, no one is looking for either.

There are some parts in the book though where I think Vrell is more strong stomached than I would be…I have had to deal with some nasty things before, but dealing with a dead body…not my cup of tea, and while I think all the other stuff in Jill Williamson’s book was well thought out and nicely written and very well detailed, I did not think that her reaction (Vrell’s) to dead bodies was intense enough. Now, please keep in mind that it could very well be my own misgivings and bias that makes me think that, but since it is my blog, I get the right to put it in there. 🙂

After getting the response back from Jill, it gave me a better insight into the idea of Blood Voices. I liked the idea of telepathy being mixed in with passing down through royal blood….lol it made me want to try to “voice” something to my husband. I know I am royalty because I get treated like a princess by him, but I am not so sure he is because he definitely wasn’t getting anything that I was trying to voice to him. 🙂

This blog is pretty short due to the fact that my little girl who is almost 5 months old is getting tired and hungry and her mom, who is 27 years old, is getting tired too. So without further ado, let me suffice my blog up by saying, I really liked this book and look forward to reading the next one. I see good books coming from Miss Williamson and I would recommend that you read this book if you happen to like fantasy/fiction books. I would suggest this book for older teens and up as someone who could really appreciate all the book has to offer.

God Bless and good reading!

Take a look at Jill’s website and check out what other people are saying about the book in these other blogs.

Brandon Barr
Keanan Brand
Gina Burgess
Beckie Burnham
Melissa Carswell
Valerie Comer
Karri Compton
Amy Cruson
CSFF Blog Tour
Stacey Dale
D. G. D. Davidson
Jeff Draper
Emmalyn Edwards
April Erwin
Sarah Flanagan
Andrea Graham
Tori Greene
Ryan Heart
Joleen Howell
Becky Jesse
Cris Jesse
Jason Joyner
Julie
Carol Keen
Krystine Kercher
Dawn King
Leighton
Rebecca LuElla Miller
New Authors Fellowship
John W. Otte
Crista Richey
Chawna Schroeder
Andrea Schultz
James Somers
Rachel Starr Thomson
Steve Trower
Fred Warren
Dona Watson
Phyllis Wheeler
KM Wilsher

In conjunction with the CSFF Blog Tour, I received a free copy of this book from the publisher.

One thought on ““By Darkness Hid” By Jill Williamson- Part 3

  1. quote- “lol it made me want to try to “voice” something to my husband. I know I am royalty because I get treated like a princess by him, but I am not so sure he is because he definitely wasn’t getting anything that I was trying to voice to him. ”

    cute, becky… very cute, lol!

Leave a Reply

