“Imaginary Jesus” by Matt Mikalatos

Hi fellow readers and bloggers. First, I would like to apologize for lack of content on my blog for this month’s book. I feel that there is alot to blog about, but I have a hard time getting my thoughts in order and to sound the same way written down as they do in my head. Its very hard to get some things across in typen form… yes, I made that word up. “typen” feel free to copy me though. 🙂

Alright, “Imaginary Jesus” by Matt Mikalatos was June’s book of the month. When I first got the book, I was skeptical, and kind of wary of what might be inside the book. The cover art did not really grab me, in fact it kind of turned me off a little, but I have not always let that stop me from at least reading the back cover, or the inside first page to see if maybe I shouldn’t judge a book by its cover.

While I did not like the art on it, I think that it personified how the rest of the book was going to be for me. At times, I found myself laughing (like the book claims it will make you do) and at times I found myself very upset with the content of it…sometiems I even found myself being upset with Matt for putting me in the book… as in I recognized that at times I have had the mindset that Jesus is a big list taker and he is patiently writing everything down just as I ask for it and he is just waiting to swoop in and answer just as I tell him… I mean ASK him to.

I am not sure even now how I feel about this book. Would I recommend someone else read it? I don’t know, would I recommend someone else NOT read it? I don’t know… I am not sure how I feel about this book even now, about a month after reading it….

I did at times though like the character of Pete. 🙂 He made me smile at times, and at other times I think it was a bit blasphemous the things he would say or do….

aggggggghhh. I just hate not being able to one way or the other specify what I would say to someone else regarding reading this book. Sorry all! I think I will need to re-read it again to decide.

Check out what other bloggers are saying about the book, and the authors blog and website.

Also, In conjunction with the CSFF Blog Tour, I received a free copy of this book from the publisher.

Participants’ links (paste as is in the body of your post or update the links in your sidebar):

Brandon Barr
Keanan Brand
Grace Bridges
Beckie Burnham
Valerie Comer
R. L. Copple
Amy Cruson
CSFF Blog Tour
Stacey Dale
D. G. D. Davidson
Jeff Draper
April Erwin
Andrea Graham
Tori Greene
Becky Jesse
Cris Jesse
Jason Joyner
Julie
Carol Keen
Krystine Kercher
Dawn King
Leighton
Rebecca LuElla Miller
John W. Otte
Donita K. Paul
Crista Richey
Chawna Schroeder
Rachel Starr Thomson
Steve Trower
Fred Warren
Phyllis Wheeler
KM Wilsher

2 thoughts on ““Imaginary Jesus” by Matt Mikalatos

  1. Becky, I think your reaction is understandable. As I wrote in my first post, I was hesitant about the book because I didn’t like the idea of suggesting Jesus was imaginary. When I realized the book was a humorous search for the Real Jesus, I wasn’t any more comfortable because I don’t think finding Jesus is a laughing matter.

    The bottom line for me was that I felt Matt didn’t cross the line and say things the Bible doesn’t say.

    Perhaps reading the reactions others had to the book might help you sort through your thoughts. Crista Richey had an overall negative reaction to the book. Dawn King. in her three posts, expressed how the book affected her personally. John Otte, a Lutheran minister, gave his thoughts about the theology. Chawna Schroeder seemed to have a reaction closest to yours—not knowing quite what to think about it—whereas Phyllis Wheeler found much to praise.

    Anyway, thanks so much for taking the time to participate in the tour, Becky.

    Becky 😉

  2. Pingback: CSFF Blog Tour – Imaginary Jesus by Matt Mikalatos, Day 1 « A Christian Worldview of Fiction

Leave a Reply

