“Starlighter” by Bryan Davis (CSFFBT-July ’10)

Hi there,

     It has been quite awhile since i have been on the computer for longer than to just check my e-mail or FB real quickly. Having a child changes everything. I was told that before we had Sarah, and I believed people, but now that she is here, it is amazing how much of our life she affects. There is no part of our lives that is left untouched by this precious bundle of God’s grace and mercy to us. I think that for people who have children and are following after God, there is a sense of wonder in them that the creator of all good things would deem us, humans, the ones who betrayed Jesus, worthy enough to receive a blessing in the form of children.

Now I am not saying that there are never hard times, I have lost countless hours of sleep, and felt many times like pulling my hair out, and wondered often if things will ever be back to “normal”, but all in all, I would not change having our daughter for anything.

I think that’s why part of Bryan Davis’ book “Starlighter” affected me so much. I want to tell you what part, but I am at a loss of how to do so without ruining part of the book for others who have not read it…o.k. I guess I won’t give anything away by saying that the part about the cattle children just broke my heart. Also, I felt that Koren, one of the lead characters was just amazing.

Her heart and her passion and belief in what was right, made me at times feel very humble. I realize that she is just a character in a book, but it made me think of our relationship to Christ. We are to stand against the world, and follow after him, regardless of how hard people or circumstances may be around us. I think at times we get sucked into a “black egg”, whether it’s just emotional drama, physical stuff, or mental games that the world tries to play with us….we have to break free of that and stand up and serve God wholeheartedly.

Alright I am off of my soap box now…Suffice it to say that I really like this book, but I found myself disappointed at the end because it seemed like it just cut off the story…which could very well have been the author’s intent because it left me looking forward to the next one in his series.

Well, I dont have time for much, as stated earlier, a baby changes everything (to copy a phrase from a song).  I think that this book would be good for kids from about 10 years up and older.

Check out what others have to say about “Starlighter“, as well as Bryan Davis’ Blog and Website.

also: In conjunction with the CSFF Blog Tour, I received a free copy of this book from the publisher.

Brandon Barr
Beckie Burnham
Jeff Chapman
R. L. Copple
CSFF Blog Tour
Stacey Dale
D. G. D. Davidson
Jeff Draper
April Erwin
Andrea Graham
Tori Greene
Nikole Hahn
Ryan Heart
Becky Jesse
Cris Jesse
Jason Joyner
Julie
Carol Keen
Krystine Kercher
Dawn King
Leighton
Jane Maritz
Rebecca LuElla Miller
John W. Otte
Donita K. Paul
Crista Richey
SarahFlan
Chawna Schroeder
Rachel Starr Thomson
Steve Trower
Fred Warren
Dona Watson
Phyllis Wheeler
Jill Williamson
KM Wilsher

5 thoughts on ““Starlighter” by Bryan Davis (CSFFBT-July ’10)

  1. Becky,

    Thank you for participating in the blog tour. I’m glad you enjoyed Starlighter.

    The cattle children were especially important to me, and I revisit them in the books to come, especially in the adult book coming out in September, Masters & Slayers.

    Bryan Davis

  2. Pingback: CSFF Blog Tour – Starlighter by Bryan Davis, Day 1 « A Christian Worldview of Fiction

  3. Becky, I love your post! Nothing is better, in my opinion, than when a book causes us to internalize some truth it dealt with.

    Thanks so much for taking part of the tour amidst all your responsibilities.

    Becky (the other one)

Leave a Reply

