Mark of the Lion: A Voice in the Wind, An Echo in the Darkness, As Sure as the Dawn by Francine Rivers

Hey there,

this month we are supposed to be blogging about our favorite book, or in my case, books.

This is a trilogy written by Francine Rivers…the series is The Mark of the Lion, and the first Book is “A Voice in the Wind”, 2- “An Echo in the Darkness”, 3- “As sure as the Dawn”.

This is about a young Jewish girl, Hadassah, (Which by the way, was going to be my daughter Sarah’s name, but she is just a Sarah, not a Hadassah) who lives in Ancient Roman times. She is a jew by birth, but a christian by choice, as is all her family. Through Hadassahs life, she goes through struggles that brought me to tears, laughter, and a deep desire to have a faith like hers. She is the type of woman that I aspire to be, loyal to the Lord through thick and thin, and through danger and through heartache, turmoil, good times and bad.

She is a young woman in a roman household who has to stand by her God and stand by her faith and her duties that the Lord calls her to.

There is blood, violence, a bit of gore, but also love, loyalty and adventure all throughout. Ms. Rivers has done an incredible job of bringing me into the books, bringing me into ancient rome; when I read these books I can see the ancient buildings, I can smell the smell of blood and sweat, and hear the crys of the people in the streets.

I have read these books probably a good 10 times, and each time I am more and more endeared to this woman, who is in truth a piece of fiction, but who at the same time has captured my heart as someone whom I would love to have as a close friend and sister in the Lord. I love the truths that Ms. Rivers has set down on paper.

I would recommend these books for women over 13 to read, but its a wonderful read!

Check out what these peoples favorites are…especially my husbands www.crisjesse.wordpress.com .

Brandon Barr
Thomas Clayton Booher
Keanan Brand
Grace Bridges
Beckie Burnham
Morgan L. Busse
Jeff Chapman
CSFF Blog Tour
Stacey Dale
D. G. D. Davidson
Jeff Draper
George Duncan
April Erwin
Andrea Graham
Tori Greene
Ryan Heart
Timothy Hicks
Becky Jesse
Jason Joyner
Julie
Carol Keen
Krystine Kercher
Mike Lynch
Rebecca LuElla Miller
New Authors Fellowship
John W. Otte
Donita K. Paul
Chawna Schroeder
James Somers
Speculative Faith
Rachel Starr Thomson
Steve Trower
Jason Waguespac
Fred Warren
Dona Watson
Phyllis Wheeler
KM Wilsher

One thought on “Mark of the Lion: A Voice in the Wind, An Echo in the Darkness, As Sure as the Dawn by Francine Rivers

  1. Pingback: CSFF Blog Tour – Your Favorite, Day 1 « A Christian Worldview of Fiction

Leave a Reply

