“The Skin Map” by Stephen Lawhead

Hello there fellow bloggers,

 This months CSFF  Blog tour’s book is “The Skin Map” by author Stephen Lawhead, you may remember him by the other book we have done on the tour, at least since I have been a part of it, by the name of “Tuck”.

I was ready to dive into this book by him, being warmed up to what I thought was his style of writing by reading Tuck. However, I think that my might just maybe might be a bit befuddled by all the time that has passed in between reading books by Mr. Lawhead. What I thought was going to be as easy as sitting on my favorite reading chair, all nice and comfy and familiar, turned out to be a bit of getting used to, kind of having to find my place all over again.

Once I got into “Skin Map” and started reading it, I got comfortable after a while, but I had to familiarize myself with all the different words that are thrown in there, seemingly out-of-place, from an author’s standpoint (if I can be called an author???), but perfectly (at least in my humble opinion) in line with the CHARACTER’s vocabulary.

My husband and I slightly disagreed about this just the other night. I think because I have had more time of reading a variety of different genres of books, and by different authors, I can acclimatize myself to a persons style of writing a bit easier and quicker than he can. At least I seemed to be able to with this book.

I am liking it so far, but either I am not seeing it, or I am seeing perfectly what is not intended to be there, and that is an element of spirituality in the book.

I am not saying that every book on the tour has to have an element of spirituality, but I think it is something that I have become accustomed to, and have even started to expect out of the books I receive as part of the CSSF Blog Tour.

It could be that it comes in later in the book, and since we received the books so late, I am just not at section three….

I do however have to say that I like the titles of chapters, and I like the premise of the book.

There are some theories in there that I find myself disagreeing with, which might come off as a bad thing, but seeing as how I am only disagreeing with a fictional character and not necessarily the author, I think it’s quite alright. 🙂

I don’t think everyone will like this book, but so far I am and you should check out what the other bloggers have to say about this book.

Hopefully this blog made sense as it was written in between chasing after my daughter (who was getting all of the potatoes out of the bag and taste testing them) and talking to my husband who likes to harass people (good-naturedly) online in his video gaming world.

God bless and happy reading!

(P.s. I STRONGLY suggest you check out Red Bissell’s page, as I am somewhat attached to her, seeing as how she is one of my close friends)

btw, In conjuntion with the CSFF Blog tour, I received a free copy of this book from the publisher.

*Participants’ links
Red Bissell
Thomas Clayton Booher
Keanan Brand
Grace Bridges
Beckie Burnham
Morgan L. Busse
Jeff Chapman
Christian Fiction Book Reviews
Valerie Comer
Karri Compton
Amy Cruson
CSFF Blog Tour
Stacey Dale
D. G. D. Davidson
George Duncan
April Erwin
Tori Greene
Ryan Heart
Bruce Hennigan
Timothy Hicks
Christopher Hopper
Becky Jesse
Cris Jesse
Becca Johnson
Jason Joyner
Julie
Carol Keen
Krystine Kercher
Shannon McDermott
Allen McGraw
Matt Mikalatos
Rebecca LuElla Miller
Nissa
John W. Otte
Gavin Patchett
Sarah Sawyer
Chawna Schroeder
Kathleen Smith
Rachel Starr Thomson
Donna Swanson
Robert Treskillard
Steve Trower
Fred Warren
Dona Watson
Phyllis Wheeler
Nicole White
Elizabeth Williams
Dave Wilson

2 thoughts on ““The Skin Map” by Stephen Lawhead

  1. You mentioned theories you didn’t agree with. Right away in the book, there’s mention of evolution in connection to the cave lions — kinda dampened my reading enjoyment. Dagnabbit, why is evolution still being embraced by so many Christians?

    But, as for the story itself, I found the book easy to follow and a joy to read.

  2. Pingback: CSFF Blog Tour – The Skin Map, Day 1 « A Christian Worldview of Fiction

Leave a Reply

