The Charlatan’s Boy by Jonathan Rogers

Interview with Jonathan Rogers, Author of The Charalatan’s Boy
 
Q1: What gave you the idea for this book?

I already told another blog-tourer–Sarah Sawyer–about the pre-origin of The Charlatan’s Boy; it involves a little girl who dreams of kangaroos, and you can read it here [ http://www.sarahsawyer.com/blog/ ]. But the original story about the kangaroo dreamer really didn’t look anything like The Charlatan’s Boy. The Charlatan’s Boy really began to take shape when I wrote the first sentence which came to me unbidden and fully formed: “I don’t remember one thing about the day I was born.” Before I knew it, I had a boy shut up in a wagon box that used to be used for a dancing bear, and the story began to tell itself.

 
Q2: How do you start the creative process of writing a fantasy book?
I start the process by envisioning places. Different places give rise to different stories, so I think long and hard about what kind of place I want to write about, then I start thinking about what kinds of stories might happen in such a place. There’s nothing fantasy-specific about that technique. The books I like, whether they’re fantasy or realistic fiction–or history, for that matter–have a very strong sense of place. I’m a little awed by those fantasy writers who are really good at world-building the LB Grahams and Donita K. Pauls. Corenwald is nothing like their worlds. It’s just the Georgia and Florida with the names changed. There isn’t a place in the Wilderking or The Charlatan’s Boy that I couldn’t take you precisely to the spot that is described. The Okefinokee Swamp, the Ocmulgee River, Providence Canyons, Florida Caverns–when it comes to landscapes, I didn’t make anything up. But what I lack in invention I make up for in knowing how to handle the material I dig up and give it a fresh look and feel. 

 

 
Q3: How long did it take you to write the book, from conception of the idea to the end?

I wrote that first sentence in July 2008, in a cabin at Alpine Camp for Boys in Mentone, Alabama (great camp, by the way). I finished it in early 2010. So 18-20 months. That’s a very long time for me.

Q4: Have you ever seen a real live feechie in person, or just in you imagination? 🙂

I wrote about an old boy who inspired the whole tribe of feechiefolks here: http://jonathan-rogers.com/?p=239.

Then there’s Kentucky’s Turtle Man: http://jonathan-rogers.com/?p=392
I’ve got a regular feature on my blog called “Feechie of the Week,” which features real people who comport themselves like feechies. It’s been a few weeks since we’ve given out the award; it’s like people have been very civilized lately.
Thank you Jonathan Rogers for your time!!!!
Check out what others have to say about his book.

*Participants’ links
Sally Apokedak
Amy Bissell
Red Bissell
Jennifer Bogart
Thomas Clayton Booher
Keanan Brand
Beckie Burnham
Jeff Chapman
Christian Fiction Book Reviews
Valerie Comer
CSFF Blog Tour
D. G. D. Davidson
April Erwin
Andrea Graham
Tori Greene
Katie Hart
Bruce Hennigan
Christopher Hopper
Becky Jesse
Cris Jesse
Jason Joyner
Julie
Carol Keen
Shannon McDermott
Allen McGraw
Matt Mikalatos
Rebecca LuElla Miller
Nissa
Donita K. Paul
SarahFlan
Sarah Sawyer
Chawna Schroeder
Tammy Shelnut
Kathleen Smith
James Somers
Donna Swanson
Robert Treskillard
Fred Warren
Phyllis Wheeler
Nicole White
Elizabeth Williams
Dave Wilson

5 thoughts on “The Charlatan’s Boy by Jonathan Rogers

  1. Pingback: CSFF Blog Tour – The Charlatan’s Boy, Day 1, Are Feechies Real? « A Christian Worldview of Fiction

  2. Some excellent questions, Becky! I always enjoy hearing about the creative processes of other writers, and it’s interesting how different it looks when you’re pulling directly from the real world, as Jonathan did. But I thought he did an excellent job infusing it with just the right touch of the fantastic.

  3. Pingback: CSFF Tour Wrap – The Charlatan’s Boy « A Christian Worldview of Fiction

  4. Fun interview. Thanks, Becky and Jonathan.

    I also think that boys camp looks great. Young boys look up to older boys and young men so much. I know mine did, anyway. How wonderful to have a camp where boy s can play and pray with young men.

Leave a Reply

