The Wolf of Tebron by C.S. Lakin

Hello all,

 I am sorry this post is coming later in the day, hopefully you will still get some use out of it.

A while back my husband did a review of the book, it was “an advanced readers copy”… which since we are married and it is a common law state…all things being equal…yadda yadda…I read his book. 🙂

At the time I had a hard time getting into the book, but I liked the idea behind the book for a few reasons.

 1) I love wolves; anything to do with wolves (BESIDES a certain vampire vs. werewolf series…) I like to read it. I love watching national geographical movies about wolves, I like the sound wolves make, especially the howling at the moon… (right Tess and amy???) I love their fur, their eyes and their big huge paws. Suffice it to say, I like wolves.

2)In the book, Joran, the main character, is able to “mindspeak” with animals. I would like to be able to do this. I think though that while the book was fantasy-ish in this, the thoughts that the animals had were very…animal-ish. lol That is to say that I think C.S. Lakin did a good job portraying this side of the animals.

3)I like the journey that Joran makes…not only the physical journey, but the mental one where he has to confront some ideas about himself that were false…very good portrayal of the dilemma that seems to go through a person.

A few reasons that I found it hard to re-read the book…

1)In the book, Joran seems at times like he is a 14 yr old boy, and at others a 20-year-old man.
I had a hard time meshing these two images that I got from the book together, so I think some work could be done to rectify that situation.

2) I am in the middle of another series of books by a different author that is more historical fiction, and it seems sometimes I have a hard time switching genres if I am really involved in one sort of one for a different sort of one.

3)I have had a very hectic couple of weeks since I received the book. I am trying to get over being sick and with the holidays thrown in there, as well as trying to figure out how we are going to make ends meet and praying for a different job for my husband…it has just been hard to read anything…let alone something I have already read.

All that being said… I don’t know. I like the book, but I am not sure who I would recommend it to…that is what age group I would recommend it for. While I think some teens might get a kick out of it, I do not think that the struggles that Joran goes through would resonate with a younger set of readers, but at the same time, Joran at times seems so young that I am not sure if I want to recommend it to older readers…

All of THAT being said….. I am looking forward to reading C.S. Lakin’s next book in the Gates of Heaven series.

Check out what these other readers had to say about “The Wolf of Tebron” and the author’s blog for more info…and as always: In conjunction with the CSFF Blog Tour, I received a free copy of this book from the publisher.

Noah Arsenault
Amy Bissell
Red Bissell
Justin Boyer
Keanan Brand
Grace Bridges
Beckie Burnham
Jeff Chapman
Christian Fiction Book Reviews
Carol Bruce Collett
Valerie Comer
CSFF Blog Tour
D. G. D. Davidson
April Erwin
Andrea Graham
Nikole Hahn
Katie Hart
Ryan Heart
Bruce Hennigan
Becky Jesse
Cris Jesse
Becca Johnson
Jason Joyner
Julie
Carol Keen
Dawn King
Shannon McDermott
Matt Mikalatos
Rebecca LuElla Miller
Joan Nienhuis
Nissa
John W. Otte
Chawna Schroeder
Tammy Shelnut
Kathleen Smith
James Somers
Rachel Starr Thomson
Robert Treskillard
Fred Warren
Phyllis Wheeler

One thought on “The Wolf of Tebron by C.S. Lakin

  1. I enjoyed your post. I would think this book would be more appropriate for adults but I have seen a review by Matt M’s 9 year old daughter Z who seemed to really enjoy it. Different ages could glean different observations and have different experiences while reading I suppose.

Leave a Reply

