Proverbs 31 woman

I am signed up to follow this lady, Karen Ehman’s blog. She is a participant in the Proverbs 31 ministries, a website that send outs encouraging and uplifting blogs and often does giveaways of books that people have written. I have followed Karen’s blog because it has encouraged me lately and I just like her sense of writing style. 

Today’s blog must have hit a nerve with me. She had a guest blogger on and one of the things the guest said was “let us know what questions come to mind when you think of the woman of Proverbs 31”. 

Well, apparently that opened the floodgates of my mind and questioning abilities. 

Below is what I replied to in the comment box: 

I love the invitation to put questions or comments we might have about the lady in Proverbs 31… one of the questions I find myself asking is “did she REALLY get up before her household?” and IF she did, did she do it while pregnant, on 4 hours of sleep and having a 2 yr old and 2 dogs and a husband to take care of??? There are so many times I WANT to get up before my husband and have a nice breakfast all laid out for him, his clothes smelling of nice fresh laundry smell, but do i??? Nooooooo way. I am beat I am exhausted I am tired I am worn thin and I look at this lady and think, HOW did she do it all? Wasn’t she ever frustrated and just wanting to sleep in??? didn’t she ever just let her kid wear the same clothes 2 days in a row because it was easier? There have been so many times I feel inadequate because I do not have my family “clothed in purple”, I don;t get up before my husband, I barely get up before the “baby” who is 2 going on at least 8, and I have not considered any fields and bought them. I don’t spin, I don’t knit, I barely crochet (if the hat I am working on is any indication, it will take me another 4 months to get to the point where I can put the brim on). I do the dishes, laundry, (yes despite my earlier statement of letting my kid wear her clothes 2 days in a row…)and I buy the groceries. I don’t NOT do any of those other things because I hate being a woman or being a good wife or woman, but because so many times it easier to just sit. Or sleep as the case may be.
*whew* Sorry. Apparently I had more questions than I thought I did.

Yep, that is what I wrote. A few of the things I AM working on: getting maidens, or a maid, Cris still has not said yes to that one though..Making my arms (and the rest of me) strong with the help of my friends over at Fit2B studios, I am working on making sure that the teaching of kindness is on my tongue, especially when dealing with disciplining my daughter, there are a few others that I am working on and a few more that I fall short on.

So many times I find myself falling VERY short of what I should be doing. I am not perfect in any way, but I HAVE been perfectly forgiven by the only one who has the ability to do so. And as my uncle reminded me last night, God is my strength. I do not have to do it all on my own.  I CAN get better, but I am not alone in my pursuit of this, I have the indwelling of the holy spirit to help me. Much better than doing it on my own, let me tell ya. 

 

These have been the thoughts of a very tired, very eclectic, very sleepy, very pregnant woman striving to be more like the lady in Proverbs 31. 

 

Description of a Worthy Woman

 

10 An excellent wife, who can find?

For her worth is far above jewels.

11 The heart of her husband trusts in her,

And he will have no lack of gain.

12 She does him good and not evil

All the days of her life.

13 She looks for wool and flax

And works with her hands in delight.

14 She is like merchant ships;

She brings her food from afar.

15 She rises also while it is still night

And gives food to her household

And portions to her maidens.

16 She considers a field and buys it;

From her earnings she plants a vineyard.

17 She girds herself with strength

And makes her arms strong.

18 She senses that her gain is good;

Her lamp does not go out at night.

19 She stretches out her hands to the distaff,

And her hands grasp the spindle.

20 She extends her hand to the poor,

And she stretches out her hands to the needy.

21 She is not afraid of the snow for her household,

For all her household are clothed with scarlet.

22 She makes coverings for herself;

Her clothing is fine linen and purple. 

23 Her husband is known in the gates,

When he sits among the elders of the land.

24 She makes linen garments and sells them,

And supplies belts to the tradesmen. 

25 Strength and dignity are her clothing,

And she smiles at the future. 

26 She opens her mouth in wisdom,

And the teaching of kindness is on her tongue.

27 She looks well to the ways of her household,

And does not eat the bread of idleness.

28 Her children rise up and bless her;

Her husband also, and he praises her, saying:

29 “Many daughters have done nobly,

But you excel them all.”

30 Charm is deceitful and beauty is vain,

But a woman who fears the LORD, she shall be praised.

31 Give her the product of her hands,

And let her works praise her in the gates. 

One thought on “Proverbs 31 woman

Leave a Reply

