The Telling by Mike Duran – A book review

So here is my first foray into the world of blogging for CSFF blog tour since I had my baby 5 months ago.

I finally feel as if things have settled down enough for me to read a book, let alone write a blog about it.

WOOOOOO BOY! did I pick a whopper of a book to start back up on!

Mike Duran’s book “The Telling” is a zinger thriller of story!  I received the book and was not sure what to expect but was pleasantly surprised by the story that had me literally on the edge of my seat trying to read the next chapter before it got dark at night.

I am not one to go in for scary spooky stories, and while I am not sure that I would classify this book as “spooky” its definitely one that is a bit scary, hence the reading it before night time came around. Usually I read right before bed, this one was a daytime only type of book because of my overactive imagination.

It deals with angels, demons and the forces of darkness and a man who has to come to terms with his own past in order to open himself up to be used by God to fight against the evil that has come into the town of Endurance. People are not themselves, there are weird things happening and most of all, Zeph Walker has to muddle through his past and his present handicaps to get to the bottom of it all.

He’s not alone in this fight against evil, there is always a Remnant, in this case a group of people who are committed to overcoming darkness not by their own strength but through the strength of their faith in God.

This book deals with a lot of touchy subjects but I really enjoyed the storyline and the characters. There is alot in there that I think the reader just has to assume about the characters and their relationship with Christ or their lack thereof, but overall I would say its a great piece of Speculative Fiction.

When reading this book I felt like I had read it somewhere before at least until I was halfway through the book. I am not sure if its because I read Mike Duran’s other book “The Resurrection” or if its just the style of writing, but I could not put the book down. I finished it in about 5 days. 🙂 That’s saying a lot with two little ones running around my house.

Make sure to check it out and check out what others on the Blog tour have to say about it.

Also : In conjunction with the CSFF Blog Tour, I received a free copy of this book from the publisher.

Jim Armstrong
Noah Arsenault
Keanan Brand
Beckie Burnham
Brenda Castro
Jeff Chapman
Christine
Theresa Dunlap
Victor Gentile
Nikole Hahn
Bruce Hennigan
Jason Joyner
Julie
Carol Keen
Emileigh Latham
Meagan @ Blooming with Books
Rebecca LuElla Miller
Anna Mittower
Kathleen Smith
Donna Swanson
Jessica Thomas
Steve Trower
Dona Watson
Shane Werlinger
Phyllis Wheeler

3 thoughts on “The Telling by Mike Duran – A book review

  1. Pingback: CSFF Blog Tour – The Telling by Mike Duran, Day 1 « A Christian Worldview of Fiction

Leave a Reply

