The Telling – By Mike Duran part 2

Yesterday I posted a review for the book “The Telling” written by Mike Duran, author of Resurrection, this is the 2nd review of the book as a part of the CSFF Blog Tour I am a part of. If you are interested in what that is, take a look at the link, and make sure to check out Mike Duran’s Blog, his FB page and also this link for the book.

Also, make sure to check out what others have to say about this book by going through the blog tour links at the bottom of this post.

NOW to get to the meat of the matter – My review…or the 2nd part of it anyway. This one is just more of my thoughts as I read the book and I look back on what I felt when I read it.

Yesterday I gave you just a bit of info about the book and I mentioned that while the book was an awesome read, and I couldn’t put it down, I give props to Mr. Duran for writing a book that has so many controversial issues in it.  In part, I think its good because the book is touted as a fiction book, not as something as solid as the bible. In that realm I think its a good read, but in that same respect, people who don’t know anything about christ or christians might be overwhelmed and even a little scared of having anything to do with it just due to the thought of having to deal with spiritual powers, Fighting against evil, demons, angels, aliens even!…ah,…I am not getting this out right. Yes, as christians we DO deal with the Spiritual Realm, we DO fight against evil, we ARE to proclaim the good news to those far and wide, we are considered “aliens” in this world…but I don’t think it happens the way it was portrayed in this book.  Hmmm alright enough of that, on to how I felt about the book. I loved the imagery in the book, the descriptive words that he used brought me to a place in Death Valley, I felt the heat, saw the dust swirling down the street, I could hear the anguish in Zephaniah Walkers voice (the main character in the book) as he talked about his tough childhood, and most of all I felt chills and goose bumps when he brought out the characters that came out of the ninth gate of hell…..I did not get all weepy at certain places as I might have in some other books, but because of the genre of this book, the more “spooky” type and the suspense type, I was too hyped up to have any other sort of emotion. I kept looking over my shoulder, looking out the window checking out the cars that drove by…thinking about all the people that have told me ” You look like someone I know…” eeeeeeeeerie. I think that was the point of the author. To get you thinking…to get you outside of the box that we put ourselves in and think about ‘what if’…and for me, it meant that I spent more time praying…not necessarily because I was scared but because I thought of those who it seems like are facing spiritual darkness and giving in to it instead of fighting.

If all of this makes you wonder what my post has to do with the book, I guess you will just have to go check it out for yourself, read the book and then come back and re-read my post. 🙂 That’s THIS author’s point…go check the book out, but make sure that you are continually reading the only book that matters and applying it to your life : The bible.

Thats all folks….for now.

Jim Armstrong
Noah Arsenault
Keanan Brand
Beckie Burnham
Brenda Castro
Jeff Chapman
Christine
Theresa Dunlap
Victor Gentile
Nikole Hahn
Bruce Hennigan
Jason Joyner
Julie
Carol Keen
Emileigh Latham
Meagan @ Blooming with Books
Rebecca LuElla Miller
Anna Mittower
Kathleen Smith
Donna Swanson
Jessica Thomas
Steve Trower
Dona Watson
Shane Werlinger
Phyllis Wheeler

One thought on “The Telling – By Mike Duran part 2

Leave a Reply

