Installment 3-Tummy Team week 2- The journey continues

Here I am at the beginning of week 2 on my journey with The Tummy Team‘s prenatal program.

If you are just checking out my blog and my journey, make sure to check out the Preview, Week 1, and installment 2 to see what you’ve been missing. 🙂

I have learned so much just in the first week and it feels like at times I have it ALL… and then I remember what I was like at the beginning (see week 1) and I thought “oh yeah I got this!” I am learning to be less “Gung ho- lets move forward regardless of how much I know” and becoming more like “lets sit back a minute and make sure we are doing this RIGHT”.

Kelly, founder and star of the tummy team video’s just answered a few questions I had today and what she said at the end really struck a chord with me… she said “Remember, MORE is not better…better is better.” (emphasis mine). WOW. This is eerily similar to what I have mentioned before in my previous posts (preview, week 1, installment 2) that I have said to my piano students. I tell them “practice does NOT make perfect…perfect practice makes perfect”. I guess it is true in more aspects of life than just music!

I am really looking forward to this week as I have already noticed some improved areas of my life that going through this program has helped with.

For some of you, the rest of this blog might be TMI…if bathroom talk makes you squeamish, then maybe this blog post is not for you.

 

One of the areas that I have noticed improvement on is how much easier it is to go to the bathroom. This is something that we do every day…usually multiple times a day. I am not talking about peeing, I am talking about pooping… (and side note, when you have kids, its amazing the conversations you have with your husband… it goes from the embarassed laugh and giggle when you toot in front of your spouse to… “Oh honey! Did I tell you what color ——- (insert child’s name here)’s poop was today? it was REALLY weird..should we take her in?”..yeah. fun conversations. )
When you are having regular bowel movements, that is GOOD for your body, good for your mood, good for your mental and physical health. Thats the way God made the body. We eat the food, our body processes it, and then whatever is leftover gets expelled from our body in the form of poop.

When you are using the wrong method to “help” expell it..it brings on a whole load of other problems. From hemorrhoids, to diverticulitis, to worse prolapse and prostrate problems, and a whole slew of other things.

The nice thing about this program is that it helps to get things moving and get them moving in the right direction.

Again, this might seem silly to some of you that I am writing a whole blog about using the bathroom, but I think so many people don’t talk about this and so the problems continue and continue to get WORSE not better.

This is very difficult for me to write…but things need to change. And I have dealt with what I used to (not-so-)fondly call “tummy troubles” for as long as I can remember. Part of it had to do with being Lactose Intolerant, being diagnosed with IBS when in reality it was Gluten Intolerance, and a whole slew of problems that are brought on by being pregnant.

I remember when Cris and I first got married and I would be crying in pain so bad and trying to be quiet whenever I would have an attack on my intestines where everything that I had eaten over the past week, or day, or 5 hours would try to get out however it could…and then try to come out of the bathroom and just play it off like it was nothing unusual. It was so hard to not be sobbing in pain…and often I failed to quiet the sobs and crying out to God to make it stop.  That’s when we thought it was the medicine I was on…tried getting rid of that..and that would help for a bit. then I tried staying away from dairy in any form, (butter and cheese, is all that I was using)…aGAIN..and that would help for a bit…(a bit = 1-2 days)…I look back on the days that I dealt with that and a part of me is frustrated that it (gluten intolerance) was not diagnosed earlier. I could have spent the last 17 years in so much less pain and so much less time spent trying to figure out what I was doing wrong.

Having finally gotten my diet under control, I thought that would fix everything and for the most part, it has. I can count on 1 hand the times I have had an attack in the past year…before going GF, I would not have even been able to tell you how many times my body was attacked in the last week because the number would have been too high.

Doing this tummy program has helped so much though in understanding more about how the body works, why I have had pain the in the past and helping me and my pregnant body and belly to all work together so that the progress I have made with being GF does not go to “waste”… haha…get it…bathroom blog…talking about waste?! sigh. Sometimes I only make myself laugh. 🙂

Alright folks, here’s the gist of it…if you are dealing with 1)diahrea, 2)constipation, 3)hemorrhoids, or other issues that arise either WITH those things, or BECAUSE of those things or those things are side effects of other things (think hernia’s, diastasis recti, prolapse, etc), then maybe you should look into the Tummy Team’s Site. Call up Kelly Dean, TALK with her or one of her helpful associates and see what they have to say. If you decide to do the program, there are two options: you can go into the store which is located in Camas, Washington (think close to Vancouver, WA people), or the online programs. If you choose the online path, right now until this friday, you can enter this code “JESSEBECKY” (no quote marks) at check out to receive 25% off the price of the program. Kelly is a licensed PT and it not out to make people hurt, or to make people think this is a “quick fix”….its a lifestyle change and its not just workouts. Its REHABILITATION for your life and the muscle you use the most often. Your core.

I will update you all on how I am doing later on this week. I have found that the workouts are DEFINITELY doing their job. She said I would feel the different muscles along my back, my tummy, and the sides of my stomach…its ALL true! I am so excited to see how doing this program works out at the end of my pregnancy during labor and delivery. I have only about 11 more weeks left, so I am starting to think that much more about how I want this delivery to go down and doing what I can to get my body to at least function in the right way to do what I can do for my body and baby if things go according to plan.

Alright people, that’s it for today. Let me know your thoughts! Thanks for reading mine (especially on this post!)

One thought on “Installment 3-Tummy Team week 2- The journey continues

  1. Pingback: Things we don’t talk about…. | Becky Jesse's Blog

Leave a Reply

