week 5 of Prenatal program

Here is another installment of my reviewing the Tummy Team‘s prenatal core rehabilitation program.

some of you might be thinking “week 5? by MY calculations you should be done with this 6 week program!” well..the nice thing about this program is that the KNOW that life is busy and hectic and sometimes people get sick, or get sidetracked or stuff just happens and we don’t get to stay on schedule as easily. So they ADD in a gratuitous time for you to play catch up. This has been SO helpful to me as one week I was sick with some sort of virus and could not really do ANYTHING let alone practice what I have been learning from the Tummy Team.
Another week I was down and out due to having contractions so often. Turns out I was dehydrated… since i have been drinking at least 4 liters of water a day I have not had those issues and I am able to continue learning more about how to help my body get ready for this babys birth…but not JUST the birth of this baby. The program helps you for AFTER the baby is born too to help your body get back in optimal readiness.

I have been using what Kelly calls “belly breathing” (where you  make a shhhh-ing sound as you blow breath out and bring the belly button to the spine) so often, and especially during any contractions that I have had that now when I am doing an exercise and I start making that noise, my husband and kids automatically think that I am having contractions and do what they can to encourage me through them. 🙂 I don’t mind one bit because I am expecting to utelize the same sounds and exercises when I DO go into labor. A little practice for everyone is a good thing (don’t worry, I do let my husband know if I am NOT having contractions. 🙂 )

 

This week in the prenatal program is all about getting things ready FOR birth, pushing, labor positions, birth plans and preparing my environment for AFTER the baby gets here…its alot of good info. I have had 2 other kids and so alot of this MIGHT sound like its old tricks…but one thing I have learned with each pregnancy is how much I FORGET with each pregnancy! lol

ALOT of it does come back to you as you go through pregnancy, but some stuff you just forget. My husband has been a GREAT resource on things that I have forgotten (like drinking TONS of water really DOES make a difference….or….the drugs that I received during labor with each pregnancy). The thing that I really like about this program is how approachable Kelly seems to be. Yes I realize that it is a pre-recorded video, made for a mass of people…but when I watch it, I feel like this is how she would be talking if we were just sitting down together over coffee. Even for the awkward subjects….like bathroom posture…sleep posture…how healing your core affects your married life…all sorts of things. She is straight and to the point, very matter of fact, and very kind. Not condenscending… I like that she reminds you of things you already know, but there is no scolding in the videos. There is just information and education, detailed enough that my “ask why” personality is satisfied but not too much information that my “please use little words so I can follow easily because I have 2 children that need CONSTANT attention for looking at rocks and bugs and various other objects and smaller words are easier to remember and to use than big words” personality is not overwhelmed.  😀

Just a short little update here, but wanted to let you all know where I was at.

Honestly, sometimes I forget to “do” the exercises that are prescribed (as in, set aside a time and just go through them all at once) but I have NOT forgotten to do belly breathing during contractions, or using the bathroom, or even when I am in pain the stretches that help. Its not something I actively think “Oh! do the exercises” when I do them, its just something that has become so integrated into my way of life that I do them without thinking.

I am pretty sure that is The Tummy Team‘s goal…don’t change for a set amount of time each day…change your way of thinking and your way of living…so as to have a better quality of life. Does that make sense?

Let me know what you guys think.

 

Leave a Reply

