Encouragement- life

The other day I was feeling it again.

The siren call to the pit that is oh so hard to ignore.

Right when I was thinking “no one gets it…no one understands” is when I heard my dad start his sermon series “Mountains and Valleys”.  It was all about moments in life that we have been in the valley and on mountaintop experiences. Talking about being prepared, looking around, who is with you? It reminded me of some of the survival books and blogs that I like to read. In those blogs they mention “stop”. “Asses your surroundings”, ” asses your possessions”. They are trying to get you to not panic and to think logically, what do you have with you that you can use? What can you use around you to help you survive? Kind of like the bit of the sermon I heard. What is around you? Who is with you? Who can help you in your current predicament?

As Christians we have the awesome Holy Spirit indwelling in us.. We have other Christians surrounding us. We have the awesome and powerful word of God that is meant for our edification and building up.

The word “edify” from biblehub.com means:

1. (v.i.) To build up; to strengthen; to instruct, especially in morals or religion.

2. (v. i.) To instruct and improve, especially in moral and religious knowledge; to teach.

3. (v. i.) To teach or persuade.

4. (v. i.) To improve.

I love that.  So Gods word is meant to build us up (when we are broken), strengthen us (when we are weak), instruct us (when we don’t know what to do), improve us (when we are worn down), to teach us (when we don’t know where to go from here)…if that is not helpful during depressing times…I am not sure what would be

I don’t know about you, but during the pit days or times all of those things I mentioned in the parentheses are emotions that course through me. Mostly unbidden, but sometimes because I have chosen to dwell on sin. I admit it, I am human and I still (to my shame)sin, and sometimes that sin leads me to depressing thoughts. Usually it is because I have chosen not to submit to Gods word, or something else I am supposed to be changing in my life to reflect that of Christ’s.

So back to survival in the mountains and in the valleys. To take quotes directly from my dads notes (which I asked for after his first sermon- thank you Dad!) After he talks about God creating both mountains and valleys I love this thought he presented : “Say, for instance, if a mountain creates weather, the valley gathers the results of the weather and sends those results to where they need to go. In a sense, both depend on each other or both are codependent on the other one.”….

Wow! What a concept! I love the idea that God can use my valley times (or times in the pit) to gather strength from the times I have been on the mountain. In the midst of the valley, or pit times though, it is so so so hard to remember when I have been up on the top of mountain. Which is why its good to remind ourselves of those times.

I mention to other momma friends that are going through depression to write down peoples names and numbers they can count on to encourage and uplift them or just listen to them, and to do so during the good times. To write those names and numbers in BIG BOLD letters and place them in prominent places to be reminded of those times.

What if we did that with Gods word? Wrote down encouraging passages, or passages that can help us up out of the pit? I remember a friend growing up who did just that. I don’t remember her reason for it, but I do remember going to her house and in her space she had scriptures written on sticky notes all over. By her bed, on her nightstand, on the bathroom mirror, on the top of the toilet tank, on the doors and doorframes, everywhere one would put their eyes pretty much, there was scripture.

How’s that for survival? How’s that for encouragement? Arming yourself during the calm, good times, to be prepared during the rough, trying, tumultuous times?

That would be encouragement to the soul.

I’ll leave you with this verse from 2 Peter  chapter 1: 2 Grace and peace be multiplied to you in the knowledge of God and of Jesus our Lord; 3 seeing that His divine power has granted to us everything pertaining to life and godliness, through the true knowledge of Him who called us by His own glory and excellence .”.

 

Everything pertaining to life. LIFE!!!!

Thats just what I need when I am in the pit. Life.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

