CSFFBT-Nov. “Curse of the Spider King”

This month’s book was “Curse of the Spider King” by Wayne Thomas Batson and Christopher Hopper, book 1 in the “Berinfell Prophecies” series.

I have to say that this book is definitely a good read for pre-teens, teens, young adults and adults all alike.

In this book, the author duo takes you through not only our world, but through a world called Allyra.  Sort of like a parallel world to us. I love books like this that take imaginative things, such as elves, and Gwar (you’ll find out about them!) and make them into characters that you believe are real. The story seemed for me to take a bit to get into, I think in part because I am the sort of person who reads all the pages before the first chapter, and while it helped in this book to sort out who was who, and where was where, and what was what, it also sort of detracted from gung-ho-ness to get started reading the book. (Yes, I made that word up!)

One of the other things that I have a hard time with with young adult books, is thinking back to the time when I was around 12-14 or so and thinking if I would have had the wherewithal to stand up under some of the pressures that kids in novels do, or to be as quick-thinking as they seem to be. I just look back and wonder if I would have reacted in the same way, were I in any of the sticky situations some of the kids in the books seem to get themselves into.

Now, with all that aside, I did like the story line, despite it having spiders in it. Right after I read the book, my husband happened to save me from a giant (yes GIANT-probably 3 inches or so big!) spider that completely freaked me out. I could not stop thinking of this book after I saw the spider tho and kept looking around the room to make sure I was safe! lol

I think these two are a great pair for writing books together and I look forward to reading the next in the Berinfell Prophecies book, and am excited to see what they are going to come up with together. I can not imagine all the hard work it must have taken for them each to mesh their ideas to the other and the give and take that it must have been to have gotten to such a good piece of work, such as this book.

I hope you have a chance to read it, and hopefully you will not have to be saved, like I was, from any rogue spiders out to get you.

God bless and enjoy checking these other blogs out to see what they have to say.

~Becky

Brandon Barr
Justin Boyer
Amy Browning
Valerie Comer
Amy Cruson
CSFF Blog Tour
Stacey Dale
D. G. D. Davidson
Shane Deal
Jeff Draper
Emmalyn Edwards
April Erwin
Karina Fabian
Todd Michael Greene
Ryan Heart
Timothy Hicks
Becky Jesse
Cris Jesse
Jason Joyner
Julie
Carol Keen
Krystine Kercher
Tina Kulesa
Melissa Lockcuff
Rebecca LuElla Miller
Mirtika
Nissa
John W. Otte
Cara Powers
Chawna Schroeder
James Somers
Speculative Faith
Robert Treskillard
Fred Warren
Jason Waguespac
Phyllis Wheeler
Jill Williamson
KM Wilsher

4 thoughts on “CSFFBT-Nov. “Curse of the Spider King”

  1. Pingback: CSFF Blog Tour – Curse « A Christian Worldview of Fiction

    • Wayne, I thought the use of spiders was well done in the book…but I did wonder and think about the use of spiders after reading that book. I even told my husband…”its a spy!!!” 🙂 and of course…giant size spiders…who wouldn’t?! lol

      Cris, regardless of the size of monster that you saved me from (yes, 3 inches!) you are still my hero. 🙂

Leave a Reply

