“By Darkness Hid” by Jill Williamson

Alright, so for this book, I am finding myself immensley liking one of the lead characters – Achan.

He is a boy who is trying his hardest to prove that he is a man and he wants more for his life than to be in servitude and ruled over by his master – Poril.

Poril is a man who some might consider mean, but not as mean as he COULD be, he would be quick to point out.

Achan was taken in by Poril a long time ago and he has raised him as a servant boy…he goes around and takes care of the goats and various animals in the keep of the manor…Achan, as mentioned before, wants more for his life, but his ambitions are not too high. All he wants for himself is a better position so he might be able to ask for his longtime girlfriend, Gren’s hand.  Little does Achan know that the path that has been laid out for him is about to change.

My thoughts on this book are that Jill Williamson did  a good job in bringing out the characters of the book and making it so that you feel like you know them personally and could guess what they might say or how they might do something.

One of the things that stood out to me right away when I started reading this book, “By Darkness Hid” was Jill’s attention detail. For me it made the story more believable and more engrossing… lol I am not sure that is a word, but what I mean is that the details that she added, such as the sounds the goats made, the sights, etc, drew me into the story to where I felt like if I closed my eyes and waited for a bit, when I opened them again I might be in the middle of the story, watching it all unfold before my very eyes.

I look forward to reading the next book in the series. Make sure to take a look and see what other people wrote about the book.

Brandon Barr
Keanan Brand
Gina Burgess
Beckie Burnham
Melissa Carswell
Valerie Comer
Karri Compton
Amy Cruson
CSFF Blog Tour
Stacey Dale
D. G. D. Davidson
Jeff Draper
Emmalyn Edwards
April Erwin
Sarah Flanagan
Andrea Graham
Tori Greene
Ryan Heart
Joleen Howell
Becky Jesse
Cris Jesse
Jason Joyner
Julie
Carol Keen
Krystine Kercher
Dawn King
Leighton
Rebecca LuElla Miller
New Authors Fellowship
John W. Otte
Crista Richey
Chawna Schroeder
Andrea Schultz
James Somers
Rachel Starr Thomson
Steve Trower
Fred Warren
Dona Watson
Phyllis Wheeler
KM Wilsher

By Darkness Hid http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/ASIN/0982104952  
Author Web site and blog – http://jillwilliamson.wordpress.com/

In conjunction with the CSFF Blog Tour, I received a free copy of this book from the publisher.

6 thoughts on ““By Darkness Hid” by Jill Williamson

  1. The descriptions were detailed. Not Tolkien detailed, but definitely done well enough using the five senses that you were in the story fully.

    So I take it Vrell didn’t impress you as much as Achen? I do agree, Achen’s story was more appealing to me initially, and still is, but Vrell grew on me more. I think it’s because I didn’t want to leave Achen’s story when we went to hers, on that first switch over. So it took me a little while to start caring about Vrell. But I like her. 🙂

  2. Pingback: CSFF Blog Tour – By Darkness Hid, Day 1 « A Christian Worldview of Fiction

  3. I also felt that characterization and detail were two of this book’s greatest strengths. The book has a cinematic quality to it which makes it a great way to just kick back and enjoy a good story!

  4. Thanks for the post, Becky!
    I think it’s funny how some people love the detail and some people hate it. The same is true of Achan and Vrell, though more people like Achan. I’ve only found two people who didn’t like reading his parts as much as they liked Vrell’s.

Leave a Reply

