The Charlatan’s Boy by Jonathan Rogers

I have to say I was a bit skeptical about this months book, “The Charlatan’s Boy” by Jonathan Rogers. Just the title of the book had me a bit intrigued, but I was not expecting to be as completely engrossed in the story as I was.

The book starts out with an awesome sketch of what is labeled “The Wild Man of the Feecheifen Swamp”! Its a hilarious picture that reminds me of a gnome, minus the beard. I am not sure why that particular sort of character comes to mind, but there it is all the same.

One of the things that drew me to this book, besides being “In conjunction with the CSFF Blog Tour, I received a free copy of this book from the publisher.”

was that one of my favorite singers and authors, Andrew Peterson , annnnnd WTB had something good to say about the book. 
Add those to the fact that I just looooooove to read anyway, I figured I just had to read it.

I mentioned earlier that I was a bit skeptical, and I’ll tell you why. I saw the cover of the book and thought that the whole circus tent theme was a bit over the top. That was just at first glance. I also am not too fond of books that have overly long titles, being as its hard to look them up exactly when I go to the library. With that being said however, after having read the book, I think the cover and the title are, if anything, an understatement of how awesome the book really is.

Mr. Rogers (won’t you be my neighbor? – Sorry, couldn’t resist!) has a real knack for pulling you into the story by a variety of methods. One of those methods is how he writes in the auto-biographical (is that a real word?) style of writing.  All through out this book, I had one persons voice in my head telling me this story in his own voice. A good friend of my family, Dan F. is from Louisiana, and when he gets either excited and/or riled up, which him being like a big brother to me, I occasionally do to him on purpose, his accent becomes thicker. He is not an ugly man, as I consider the Charlatan’s boy, Grady, to be; but he IS from the south and when I was reading this book, it was his voice that I heard as Grady’s.

This book had me in tears at a few points, and in stitches of laughter at other points.

If you have not read it, I recommend it as a good, clean,  funny read.

Check out what these other bloggers have to say about it.

Participants’ links
Sally Apokedak
Amy Bissell
Red Bissell
Jennifer Bogart
Thomas Clayton Booher
Keanan Brand
Beckie Burnham
Jeff Chapman
Christian Fiction Book Reviews
Valerie Comer
CSFF Blog Tour
D. G. D. Davidson
April Erwin
Andrea Graham
Tori Greene
Katie Hart
Bruce Hennigan
Christopher Hopper
Becky Jesse
Cris Jesse
Jason Joyner
Julie
Carol Keen
Shannon McDermott
Allen McGraw
Matt Mikalatos
Rebecca LuElla Miller
Nissa
Donita K. Paul
SarahFlan
Sarah Sawyer
Chawna Schroeder
Tammy Shelnut
Kathleen Smith
James Somers
Donna Swanson
Robert Treskillard
Fred Warren
Phyllis Wheeler
Nicole White
Elizabeth Williams
Dave Wilson

6 thoughts on “The Charlatan’s Boy by Jonathan Rogers

  1. Pingback: CSFF Blog Tour – The Charlatan’s Boy, Day 1, Are Feechies Real? « A Christian Worldview of Fiction

  2. Becky, I’m so happy you enjoyed this book. It’s funny that you mentioned the cover. I had a similar reaction. I’m also not a fan of circus stories, for whatever reason, so I was also pleasantly surprised. But all I needed was that first paragraph and I was hooked. Now I’m with you. The cover and title couldn’t be more perfect! 😀

    Becky, the other

  3. Great review, Becky! I love Jonathan Rogers’ writing style too! I am very much looking forward to getting my hands on a copy of his book in, oh–another week or so! (too late for this blog tour, alas)

    Have you read any of Jonathan’s other books? The fact that this book seems to take us back to the Feecheefen Swamp (setting used in three of his other books) is an excellent thing!

  4. by the way all, in my blog when I said “autobiographical”, I was informed that the word, or phrase, I wanted to use there was “first person voice”. My husband, who is a writer himself, showed me a website that described all of those things and the differences between them. (Thanks honey!!!)
    In NO WAY was I calling Jonathan Rogers a Feechie by saying “Auto biographical”. 🙂

  5. Pingback: CSFF Tour Wrap – The Charlatan’s Boy « A Christian Worldview of Fiction

Leave a Reply

